Founded in 2021, BAGUIO Daily is an online publication that shares news, blogs and literary works directly and indirectly related to Baguio City, Philippines.

Baguio City

In 1900, the United States established Baguio as a hill station at the site of an Ibaloi village called Kafagway, making it the only U.S. hill station in Asia at the time.

Baguio is geographically located within the province of Benguet.

In 1901, Baguio became the provincial capital of Benguet.

Since 1917, Baguio has been governmentally independent.

Summer Capital of the Philippines

On September 1, 1909, Baguio was declared as a chartered city and was nicknamed the Summer Capital of the Philippines.

The city’s incumbent and 27th mayor Benjamin Magalong assumed office on June 30, 2019.

Baguio City’s twin towns and sister cities

in the Philippines

  • Angeles City (Pampanga)
  • Alaminos, Pangasinan
  • Bacolod (Negros Occidental)
  • Calbayog, Samar
  • Candon, Ilocos Sur
  • Daet, Camarines Norte
  • Davao City
  • Dipaculao, Aurora
  • Lopez, Quezon
  • Lucena (Quezon)
  • Makati City, Metro Manila
  • Mandaue (Cebu)
  • Marawi, Lanao del Sur
  • Muñoz, Nueva Ecija
  • Ormoc, Leyte
  • Pavia, Iloilo
  • San Carlos, Negros Occidental
  • Zamboanga City

outside the Philippines

  • Cusco, Peru
  • Gongju, South Korea
  • Hangzhuo, China
  • Hanyu, Saitama, Japan
  • Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
  • Karuizawa, Nagano, Japan
  • Nazareth, Israel
  • Vaughan, Canada
  • Seoul, South Korea
  • Shepparton, Australia
  • Taebaek, South Korea
  • Tamuning, Guam, United States
  • Taxco, Mexico
  • Vallejo, California, United States
  • Wakkanai, Hokkaido, Japan